The Little Rock Nine

A group of students changed history in 1957 when they integrated Central High School in Little Rock, Arkansas.

On the day they arrived at the school, iconic images show the students, called the Little Rock Nine, protected by soldiers from a baying mob of hate-filled white students and adults. The eight surviving members of that courageous group are in town to receive the 2015 Lincoln Leadership Prize from the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library Foundation.

Learn more about each member of the Little Rock Nine, pictured here with NAACP activist Daisy Bates. Hover over the members’ faces for their bios.

View a timeline of events leading up to and following the desegregation of Little Rock’s schools.