

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

October 5, 2011

CONTACT: Mayor's Press Office 312.744.3334 press@cityofchicago.org

Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events (DCASE) (312) 744-2390

MAYOR EMANUEL'S FIRST APPOINTEES TO CULTURAL ADVISORY COUNCIL APPROVED BY CITY COUNCIL

The Chicago City Council today approved Mayor Emanuel's first 21 appointees to the Cultural Advisory Council, including Council Chair Nora Daley and Vice Chair Marj Halperin.

"Chicago's diverse arts and culture scene is one of our city's most valuable assets, with a strong positive impact on economic development and quality of life for all Chicagoans," said Mayor Emanuel. "I am grateful to the members of the Cultural Advisory Council for volunteering their time and talents to ensure that Chicago will continue to be a worldwide leader in the arts."

The Cultural Affairs Advisory Council will help the Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events engage Chicago's diverse artistic communities. The Council will also act as the outreach arm of the department to engage stakeholders in creating a new Cultural Plan for Chicago.

Last month, City Council passed an ordinance that expanded the size of the Cultural Advisory Council from 21 to 30 members, while also broadening the definition of the arts to include all genres, not only the visual and performing arts.

These proposed appointees represent a broad cross-section of people from diverse geographic areas of the city, including practicing artists, representatives from major citywide cultural organizations, neighborhood and community cultural organizations and the community at large.

"The Mayor has appointed an incredible group of Chicagoans to serve on the Cultural Advisory Council and I am looking forward to working closely with them to accomplish the important goals of our department," said Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events Commissioner Michelle T. Boone.

The newly confirmed members of the Cultural Advisory Council are as follows:



Nora Daley, Chair Marjorie S. Halperin, Vice Char Dr. Anita Blanchard Antonia J. Contro Jay L. Franke Ra O. Joy Diana L. Martinez Mike Reed Cari B. Sacks Roell A. Schmidt Michael P. Thornton Homer H. Bryant Eileen LaCario Howard A. Tullman Juan A. Chavez Jeanne K. Gang Sandra P. Guthman Mary Ittelson Sheila M. O'Grady Jane M. Saks Ernest C. Wong

Today, Mayor Emanuel also recommended the appointments of four additional members for City Council approval: Theaster Gates, Shirley Madigan, Deborah Rutter, Angel Ysaguirre and Kevin Coval.

###